Published October, 2014

Changes to Claims Policy Involving Same-Sex Marriage in Several States — One-Time-Only Instruction, Social Security Administration, October 2014

The Social Security Administration (SSA) has been working with the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to determine how developments in the courts in connection with marriage equality for same-sex couplex affect SSA programs. This emergency message (EM) provides instructions for holding SSA claims and appeals involving same-sex marriages performed in the states listed below; or which involve applicants or recipients who live in these States while the application was pending; or where the applicant/recipient made or had his or her permanent homes in these States at any time while eligible.

· Alaska,

· Arizona,

· Idaho,

· Kansas,

· Montana,

· Nevada,

· North Carolina,

· South Carolina,

· West Virginia, and

· Wyoming.


An index of documents referenced in and related to this Emergency Message can be found on the Social Security Administration website.